Tag Archives: Riots

Morocco clashes

At least seven people have been killed and many more injured when Moroccan forces raided a protest camp near Western Sahara’s main city of Laayoune, which is under the military control of Morocco. The Gdaim Izik camp, which houses 12,000 Saharawi refugees, had sprung up four weeks ago, according to one version, in protest against the deteriorating living conditions in the area and the ongoing political stalemate. But according to another version, protests are seeking independence from Morocco.

The clashes are believed to have been some of the worst in the territory, which is a former Spanish colony, that has been under Morocco’s partial military control since 1975.

Rabat says the territory should come under its sovereignty, while the Polisario Front, which fought a guerilla war with Morocco for years, insists on a UN referendum that would enable the Saharawi people to choose between autonomy, independence or integration with Morocco. The violence came shortly before another round of talks between Polisario representatives and Moroccan senior officials began in the US.

Via Aljazeera

44 CPM men convicted for Nanoor killings

The sessions court of Birbhum’s Suri convicted 44 CPM supporters and leaders who had been accused in connection with the mass killing in Nanoor in 2000.  Twenty-three of the accused were acquitted.  Biswanath Konar, judge of the 1st additional sessions court, convicted them under Sections 302, 149 and 148 of IPC. The sentence will be announced on Thursday, 11th Nov 2010.

On July 27, 2000, 11 farmers belonging to the minority community and owing their allegiance to Trinamool Congress, had been killed in a clash with CPM activists at Suchpur village under Nanoor police station. The killing created a furore in the Assembly and it had been a major political issue till date. 

Additional Public Prosecutor Nripendra Natha Banerjee said all the 67 accused were present in court during the verdict. They were on bail. Several of the 44 CPM men convicted are districts leaders of the party.