Tag Archives: Award

Intellectual Devanooru Mahadeva declines Nrupathunga award

Devanooru Mahadeva


Thinker and Intellectual Devanooru Mahadeva has declined the Nrupathunga award for Kannada literature, instituted by the Bengaluru Mahanagara Transport Corporation (BMTC).

Stating the above in a letter to Dr. Nalluru Prasad, President of Kannada Sahithya Parishath, Mahadeva expressed gratitude for being chosen for the award and said that he would happily accept the award the very next day the State Government announced the implementation of State language or mother tongue as the medium of instruction in schools from first to tenth standard.

Until then, his conscience would not permit to accept the award, he said and added that he also felt embarrassed to attend pro-Kannada functions organised either by the Parishath or any other organisation advocating for Kannada language.

Dr. Prasad recalled that it had been the dream of poet laureate Kuvempu and litterateur Ha.Ma. Nayak too to enforce Kannada language as the medium of instruction in schools.

via Star Of Mysore Online.

Jamnalal Bajaj awardees – 2010

President Pratibha Patil on Thursday presented the Jamnalal Bajaj Awards for 2010 for outstanding contributions in social development. Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Chhagan Bhujbal and Governor K. Sankaranarayanan were present at the occasion.

“The objective of these awards is to encourage, recognise and reward outstanding people who have given their lives for Gandhian ideas. We want millions to get inspired by them,” said Jamnalal Bajaj Foundation chairperson Rahul Bajaj.

Chewang Norphel, a 74-year-old civil engineer from Ladakh, was presented the award for application of science and technology for rural development. His ‘artificial glacier’ has helped farmers in the dry and difficult region of Ladakh get water supply in April and May — the most crucial period of sowing.

Mr. Norphel’s 20-year-old innovation has received many awards and recognition. “A team from Chile had recently visited me to emulate this project in their country. People want to implement it in Lahaul-Spiti in Himachal Pradesh,” he said.

Mr. Norphel artificially creates a glacier at an altitude 4,000-5,000 feet lower than a natural glacier. “A lot of water is wasted during winter. So, I tried diverting a channel from the main stream. In this way, the glacial run-off is stored at different altitudes above the village. When spring is to arrive, the artificial glaciers melt first, ensuring water supply for crops.”The natural glaciers start melting only after mid-June.

Chunibhai Vaidya, a nonagenarian from Ahmedabad, was given the award for outstanding contribution in the field of constructive work. The oldest living Gandhian, Mr. Vaidya has been active in many movements in Gujarat and Rajasthan for betterment of the poor and the marginalised. He has also authored several books.

Water supply

Mr. Vaidya was instrumental in providing drinking water supply to more than 352 villages in Gujarat. He has also mobilised social groups for various activities, like de-silting canals. “We are moving towards a very unjust society, where the distribution of resources in not equal. The government does not own the resources, the community does. We will fight for a just society.”

The award for development and welfare of women and children was given to Shakuntala Choudhary, a nonagenarian from Assam. She has trained thousands of gram sevikas through Kasturba Centres throughout the State, and also worked for maintaining peaceful and harmonious relations among various social groups.

The award for promoting Gandhian values outside India was given to Lia Diskin from Brazil. Ms. Diskin has formed a non-governmental organisation for community-oriented programmes in education, healthcare, human rights, environmental preservation, social welfare and cultural peace.

She has also been organising ‘Gandhi Week’ since the past 28 years.

The winners were chosen from 124 nominations across the world.

Source:  Nonagenarians among four Jamnalal Bajaj awardees.

Infosys Prize – 2010 announced

Chandrashekhar Khare, Professor of Mathematics at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), Sandip Trivedi, Professor at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, Ashutosh Sharma, Chair Professor and Principal Investigator, Centre of Nanosciences, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur, Chetan E. Chitnis, Principal Leader, Malaria Group, International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB), New Delhi, Amita Baviskar, sociologist at the Institute of Economic Growth in New Delhi and Nandini Sundar, Chairperson of the Department of Sociology, Delhi School of Economics won Infosys Prize for the year 2010.

The Infosys Science Foundation, established by Infosys Technologies Ltd., on Monday, 25th October 2010, announced the winners in the five categories of the Infosys Prize 2010.

Chandrashekhar Khare got the prize for excellence in Mathematical Sciences. He won the prize for his “fundamental contribution” to number theory, particularly the solution he found for the Serre conjecture. Sandip Trivedi, won the prize in the Physical Sciences category for “finding an ingenious way” to solve two of the most outstanding puzzles of superstring theory — what is the origin of dark energy and why there is no mass-less scalar particle — simultaneously. He “revolutionised” the field of superstring theory and provided “the basis of much of the ongoing research throughput the world.”

Ashutosh Sharma won the prize in the Engineering and Computer Science category for his “fundamental contributions” in materials science.

Professor Chitnis’ won the prize for his work in Life Sciences providing the basis for development of a viable malarial vaccine. Amita Baviskar, and Nandini Sundar were declared joint winners of the prize for excellence in Social Sciences. While Professor Baviskar won the prize for her work on social movements in contemporary India, Professor Sundar was awarded the prize for her contribution to the understanding of social identities.

The jury for Mathematics category was headed by Srinivasa S.R. Varadhan, Professor of Mathematics, and Frank J. Gould, Professor of Science at the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University.

The jury for Physical sciences category was headed by Shrinivas Kulkarni, astrophysicist at the California Institute of Technology.

In the Life Sciences the jury was headed by Prof. Inder Verma, American Cancer Society Professor and the first incumbent of the Irwin Mark Jacobs Chair in Exemplary Life Sciences in the Laboratory of Genetics at the Salk Institute for Biological Studies, U.S. Nobel Laureate Amartya Sen headed the jury for the prize, which will be shared by the two winners.

N.R. Narayana Murthy, Chairman and Chief Mentor, Infosys, and a trustee of the Foundation, said the Prize “aims to recognise and acknowledge the outstanding work done by researchers, creating role models and thereby encouraging the youth to pursue careers in scientific research.” He said research “is the key to sustaining India’s growth.”

The six winners were drawn from 201 nominations. Each prize carries a cash award of Rs. 50 lakh, which Mr. Narayana Murthy said would not be taxed in the hands of the prize winner.

The award ceremony will be held on January 6, 2011 in Mumbai, where Prime Minister Manmohan Singh will present the awards to the winners. The corpus for the prize was established with an initial contribution of a total of Rs. 45 crore by members of the executive board of Infosys. About half the current corpus of Rs. 100 crore has been as a grant from Infosys.